27 Feb 2014

The Black Business and Professional Association Announces The 2014 BBPA Harry Jerome Award Winners

The Black Business and Professional Association Announces The 2014 BBPA Harry Jerome Award Winners

The 32nd Annual BBPA Harry Jerome Awards: “Reaching Beyond the Stars”


TORONTO, ON – February 27th 2014 – The Black Business and Professional Association (BBPA) today announced the 2014 winners for the 32nd Annual Harry Jerome Awards presented by the BBPA and RBC Royal Bank at a reception hosted by RBC. The 32nd Annual Gala will be held April 12th 2014. The BBPA is proud to celebrate 32 years of recognizing excellence, both past and present, within the African-Canadian community.

The BBPA Harry Jerome Awards is recognized as one of the most prestigious national awards gala in the African-Canadian community and a coveted symbol of achievement. The winners receive awards in sixteen categories: Academics, Athletics, Arts, Media, Entertainment, Community Service, Health Sciences, Leadership, Lifetime Achievement, Youth Entrepreneurs, Business, Professional Excellence, Technology & Innovation, Public Advocacy, Diversity, and the President's Award.

“We're honoured to once again be the presenting sponsor of the Harry Jerome Awards” said RBC Royal Bank regional vice president, Mark Beckles. “We congratulate this year's winners and the BBPA for helping to build a better community and for being exceptional role models for the next generation.”

“We are very excited to celebrate our 32nd Anniversary and welcome back RBC Royal Bank as Presenting Sponsor,” said Pauline Christian, President for the BBPA. “The BBPA has been fortunate to continue to attract world-class honourees, and we hope to inspire our community as we follow our theme for this year’s event, ‘Reaching Beyond the Stars’.”

The BBPA is proud to honour and celebrate the following award winners:

o Academics Award: Mr. Andrew Ojo
o President’s Award: Justice Donald McLeod
o Arts Award: Ms. Nicole Brooks
o Media Award: Mr. Rudy Blair
o Diversity Award: Ms. Susan Marjetti
o Public Advocacy Award: Mr. Jim Rankin
o Entertainment Award: Ms. Denise Jones
o Athletics Award: Mr. Andrew Wiggins
o Business Award: Mr. Selwyn Richards
o Community Service Award: Mr. Orlando Bowen
o Health Sciences Award: Dr. Rosemary Moodie
o Leadership Award: Ms. MadwaNikaPhanord-Cadet
o Professional Excellence Award: Dr. Kevin Hewitt
o Technology & Innovation Award: Mr. Collin Haughton
o Young Entrepreneur Award: Ms. Brittany Palmer
o Lifetime Achievement Award: Justice Gregory Regis

Event Information:
The 32ndAnnual BBPA Harry Jerome Awards will be held on Saturday, April 12th, 2014 at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, South Building, 222 Bremner Blvd, Toronto. Tickets for the Harry Jerome Awards are $200; the Early Bird Rate is $175. To place an order, please call 416-504-4097.

About the Black Business and Professional Association (BBPA):
Founded in 1983, the BBPA is a charitable organization whose mission is to advance Canada's Black community by facilitating the delivery of programs that support business and professional excellence, higher education and economic development. The BBPA presents the Annual Harry Jerome Awards, the BBPA National Scholarships and the National Black Business and Professional Convention (NBBPC).

For more information, please visit us online at www.bbpa.org, call 416-504-4097 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Please see enclosed the Media Accreditation Form for the Media Launch of the 32ndAnnual BBPA Harry Jerome Awards.

Media Contact:
Adrianna Lewis
Black Business and Professional Association
Phone: 416-504-4097
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Read 3851 times Last modified on Saturday, 29 March 2014 12:20
(0 votes)


3li En Wordmark C

Featured Directory Listings

Featured events

Get our newsletter

Please enable the javascript to submit this form