fbpx
OPINION
21 Jun 2015

Fatherhood: Daring To Do It Differently

Written by

Some people think this video is about my daughter. Why? Because of my son’s “feminine” colour choices.

16 Jun 2015

Saunders Must Change Stance on Carding at Tomorrow's Board Meeting

Written by

At tomorrow's police services board meeting, Toronto Mayor John Tory is expected to move to bring an end to police carding.

10 Jun 2015

Toronto's Mayor Vows To End Carding - Now What?

Written by

With mass pressure from below and sections of Toronto’s petty bourgeois elements publicly calling for an end to carding, Mayor John Tory announced on June 7th that he will be calling for “the permanent cancellation of carding once and for all” at the June 18th meeting of the Toronto Police Services Board. 

14 May 2015

OPINION: Don't Expect Much Change From New Toronto Police Chief

Written by

On April 20, 2015, Deputy Chief Mark Saunders became the first Black man to lead the Toronto Police Service (TPS), the country’s largest police force.

24 Dec 2014

I Avoid My People

Written by

Two weekends ago, I celebrated my big brother’s birthday. It was the first time I felt completely comfortable in a room full of predominantly Black, Caribbean, and as far as I know, heterosexual people.

11 Dec 2014

Get Woke!

Written by

It’s always darkest before the dawn, or so the old saying goes. And for my fellow early birds who know – those pre-dawn hours in all their darkness, is also the time when the most work can and should be done – if and only if we’re awake at that crucial hour.

29 Nov 2014

Black Lives Matter: Why We Shouldn't Have To Justify Our Anger

Written by

Despite not being a fan of Internet back-and-forths, I have recently found myself engaging, often online, a number of well-meaning people (including self-titled White allies and other Black folk) who are convinced that the collective upset in Black communities following the non-indictment of Darren Wilson is overdone, when in fact it is not.

25 Oct 2014

An Open Letter To The Canadian Black Caucus

Written by

Dear members of the Canadian Black Caucus, we are the women of the Black Women’s Caucus of the Toronto Rape Crisis Centre/Multicultural Women Against Rape (TRCC/MWAR). We are a community of women that commune together based on our shared oppressions that we have and currently experience throughout our lives, in the workplace, within society and in our homes.

11 Oct 2014

The Black Man's Attraction For White Women - Love, Lust or a Legacy of Self-Hatred?

Written by

In 1967 a white man in Virginia, named Loving, sued the state of Virginia for the right to marry a Black woman.

11 Sep 2014

Why I Didnt Take The ALS Ice Bucket Challenge

Written by

A couple weeks ago, I got a few "requests" to do the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. Prior to the challenge, I had never heard of Lou Gehrig's disease or ALS.

28 Aug 2014

Michael Brown And The Evolution of American Lynching

Written by

Ferguson Missouri will be remembered the way Money, Mississippi is remembered by Africans in America---a small town where a Black boy was killed and whose death galvanized a movement.

07 Aug 2014

Rob Ford Has The Black Community Right Where He Wants It

Written by

Another year, the end of another Caribana weekend. The glitz, the bedazzled outfits, the feather head dresses, waists gyrating in the hot Toronto sun, and Rob Ford.

30 Jul 2014

No More Award Shows!

Written by

Are you tired of the increasing amount of galas, brunches and award shows?

 

3li En Wordmark C

Featured Directory Listings

Get our newsletter

Please enable the javascript to submit this form

Search