fbpx
Opinion
31 Jan 2020

The Redemptive Life Of Kobe Bryant

Written by

Like many others this past week I sat and listened to Matt Mauser begin an interview on The Today Show reminiscing about the time he first met Kobe Bryant. Working as a Spanish teacher at the private school Kobe’s daughter Gianna attended, Mauser recalled a time when Kobe, who was injured at the time, approached Mauser to request attending a field trip with his daughter. Mauser enthusiastically agreed to it without hesitation, and over time the two got to know each other beyond just a first name basis.

23 Dec 2019

Black Women Are Still Cringing At The Lean In Strategy

Written by

Last week, Black Enterprise magazine published an interview with COO of Facebook and CEO of Lean In Sheryl Sandberg. It was rooted in the fact that Sandberg’s Lean In advice has fallen flat for most women, and more specifically for Black women.

13 Nov 2019

It Took Me 20 Years To Realize I Could Become A Writer - Here’s Why

Written by

I think I have potential. I say this knowing exactly how much of an arrogant so and so it makes me sound. As a full-time freelance writer, my work has popped up in publications of all sizes and influence, in which I’ve expressed political opinions from a critical perspective, along with a rare smattering of nuanced art and book reviews.

03 Oct 2019

This Is How Canadians Ignore Racism Every Day

Written by

A few years ago, I began noticing a disturbing trend in American media. Whenever a mass shooting occurred, one of two responses would emerge and dominate the public discourse. The first, as you may have anticipated, was outright denial of the problem. The well-publicized “the only thing that can stop a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun” comes to mind.

19 Sep 2019

On Justin Trudeau, Blackface And The Lies Canadians Tell Themselves

Written by

The Internet and all its Twitter activists are busy cancelling and critiquing a photo that has so fittingly surfaced a month before Canadians cast their votes in the upcoming federal election. In the photo, Justin Trudeau is in ‘brownface’ dressed as Aladdin at an ‘Arabian Nights Theme Party’ in 2001.

29 Aug 2019

Black Students In Ontario Schools Fighting To Thrive In The Face Of Anti-Black Racism

Written by

Recent reports of the schooling experiences of Black students in elementary, middle, and high school in Toronto tell a story of negligence and disregard. This disregard includes a lack of access to appropriate reading materials and supportive relationships with teachers and administrators.

15 Aug 2019

Bad Business and Bachannal – Where Toronto's Carnival Bands Went Wrong

Written by

Back in April, when mas bands first revealed their Toronto Caribbean Carnival costumes, a stunning neon green design by newbie band Dream Carnival caught my eye. I fell even more in love when I discovered that Dream was spearheaded by a young Black woman named Brittany Dardaine.

10 Aug 2019

Is Racism In Hockey A Problem We Can Fix?

Written by

Hockey by all accounts is perhaps one of the least diverse in terms of people of colour. Despite efforts to date to be an open and more inclusive sport, racism in hockey, unfortunately still exists at all levels. In recent years, however, it has reached disturbing levels both on and off the ice.

09 Aug 2019

Time Running Out For Young Man Facing Wrongful Deportation To Somalia

Written by

Before the age of 5, Abdilahi Elmi had seen dead bodies and witnessed war in Somalia. He fled with his family to Canada in 1994, where he was taken into the child welfare system at the age of 13 following physical, psychological and emotional abuse. He struggled with trauma and lack of supports which led him to cross over into the criminal justice system as happens to so many youth with backgrounds of abuse and neglect.

26 Jul 2019

Remembering Hodan - We Shouldn’t Think Of How She Died But Of How She Lived

Written by

In his 2005 essay “How to Write About Africa,” Binyavanga Wainaina says sardonically: “In your text, treat Africa as if it were one country. It is hot and dusty with rolling grasslands and huge herds of animals and tall, thin people who are starving. Or it is hot and steamy with very short people who eat primates. Don’t get bogged down with precise descriptions. Africa is big: fifty-four countries, 900 million people who are too busy starving and dying and warring and emigrating to read your book.”

20 Jun 2019

The Toronto Raptors Should Honour 'Sixth Man' - Their Fans

Written by

Standing in the intersection of Queen and Bay Streets during the Raptors Championship parade rally on Monday, I was focused on the screen set up for public viewing in front of Old City Hall. Mayor John Tory was giving his speech about the 2019 NBA champion Toronto Raptors on behalf of the people of the city. Two million cheering people were on the streets and the place was ablaze with joy, revelry and celebration.

14 Jun 2019

Basketball Is Canada’s Game: Let’s Act Like It

Written by

Last night, the Toronto Raptors made franchise history by beating the Golden State Warriors and winning the NBA Championships for the first time. It’s a surreal moment for Raptors fans who have been courtside for 24 years.

11 Jun 2019

Space Makers and Shakers in Toronto’s Black Trans and Queer Community

Written by

For decades in Toronto, Black TLGBQ (trans, lesbian, gay, bi, queer) people have found it necessary to create spaces and events which represent and welcome Black TLGBQ people. 

 

3li En Wordmark C

Featured Directory Listings

Featured events

Get our newsletter

Please enable the javascript to submit this form

Search